The islands of the Bahamas

    The Bahamas is an archipelago of over 700 islands stretching over 100,000 square miles in the Western Atlantic Ocean. The word Bahamas comes from the Spanish words 'baja mar' which means shallow sea. The Bahama Islands became the free and sovereign Commonwealth of The Bahamas on 10th July 1973 ending 325 years of British rule -- though it still remains part of the Commonwealth.

    Name of Islands-


    Known as a sailing capital where, in charming 18th century fishing villages, the art of shipbuilding continues as it has for centuries.


    An island of creeks and forests, it's the largest of The Bahamas, and a bonefishing capital.


    Game fishing capital of the world where the waters teem with marlin, sailfish, bluefin tuna and more.

    Cat Island

    Gently rolling hills and ancient Indian caves with a hermitage at its peak. The Bahamas highest island is an explorer's delight.


    Miles and miles of secluded pink beaches with excellent diving at nearby Spanish Wells and Harbour Island.


    The yachting capital of The Bahamas, these islands are known for their beautiful beaches, coves and inlets.

    Grand Bahama

    Cosmopolitan Freeport/Lucaya offers non-stop action with nightclubs, casinos, land and water sports. Nearby are tranquil, quaint fishing villages.


    A sanctuary for thousands of amazing pink flamingos in their natural habitat.

    Long Island

    An island of wandering hills and limestone caves. It also features scuba dives to underwater shipwrecks.

    New Providence

    Nassau, the capital city, is located here, along with a wealth of historical edifices, luxury hotels, cozy inns and intimate lounges.

    Paradise Island

    The spectacular hotels, a championship golf course and a dazzling casino can be reached by ferry or by bridge from downtown Nassau.

    San Salvador

    Where Columbus first set foot in the New World, it retains much of its original unspoiled beauty.

Blog Archive

Total Pageviews